February Birchbox: Step, Pose, Repeat

Hello hello! I’m so very late in posting a review of my Birchbox finds for the month of February; it just took me so long to get around to using them! This is an oddity. I usually tear through my box and try everything out in like, a day. Perhaps the reason I lagged this time was because it wasn’t my favorite box I’ve ever received. Oh well–that’s the risk of subscribing. It was still some good stuff, but nothing really gave me that excited feeling I’ve grown to expect while opening my box.

 

colorclub_rubywing_rideemcowgirl_900x900

{1} Ruby Wing Color Changing Nail Polish in Ride ‘Em Cowgirl: Nail polish that changes color in the sunlight! I really am starting to love the color gold–in jewelry, makeup shades, and nail polish. I wish this glitter was a little chunkier; the sparkles are a little sparse and require several coats to fully cover the nail. When I took it outside to test the changing color, it turned more of a coppery color than red. Still pretty! I wore this over bare nails, but it would be cool to experiment and see how the two shades look over different polish colors.

baindeterre shampoo

{2 & 3} Bain de Terre Color Preserving Shampoo & Conditioner: Just a typical shampoo/conditioner combo. It smelled really nice, and I do like anything color preserving because I {obviously} color my hair. Other than that…it didn’t exactly knock my socks off. It isn’t too expensive {$12 a bottle} so I would maybe repurchase. Just because it made my hair smell really good. Always important.

joanvass_leaudeamethyste_900x900{4} Joan Vass L’eau de Améthyste: Meh. Again, smelled good, but didn’t blow me away. And for some reason the full-size bottle is really turning me off. It’s so ugly! I’ll stick to my Daisy by Marc Jacobs–the only perfume I’ve ever loved for so long without getting sick of the way it smells. Seriously. I smelled it for the first time in high school and was infatuated. I owned the solid perfume ring, I’ve had the rollerball, I’ve sweet talked many a Sephora employee into giving me samples, and finally broke down and asked for the full size for the Christmas this year. I don’t know what took me so long, but I’m finally happy. Sorry this turned into a review of Daisy instead of L’eau de Améthyste, but oh well. It is what it is.

previse_hydromilk_exclusive_900x900{5} Previse HydroMilk: A Birchbox exclusive, as you can see! I actually really liked this product. I’m always open to trying new moisturizers, and this came at a good time. I’m in the process of revamping my skin care routine with the help of my friend Tiff, and a new moisturizer is on the list. I used this at night, post cleansing and application of acne gel {gross, I know}, and after a thin layer of my Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid. I put it on my dry areas, and my skin drank it right up! It felt nice in the morning; hydrated, but not greasy. Ultimately, I probably won’t be buying this product though. I liked the sample, but I’d rather buy something completely different.

So there you have it! February samples. Not the best, but not the worst. The good thing about the month of February is that it’s SHORT–which means my March box will be on its way in just a few weeks!

Thanks for reading! xoxo

Leave a Reply

