Best. Discovery. Ever.

I love Chicago.

Seriously. You never know what you’re going to stumble upon on your Sunday evening walk. There’s a huge new Walgreens near my apartment that just opened up a few months ago, and I finally paid it a visit a couple days ago. My roommate had mentioned that it housed a pretty impressive beauty section featuring some brands we both love–Klorane, for example–so my curiosity was piqued. But I was not expecting to see a beauty emporium rivaling Ulta and Sephora upstairs from a sushi bar, cafe area, extensive wine and liquor section, and a huge cooler with fresh fruit. Mind. Blown.

The beauty section is called the Look Boutique. I did a little research and discovered that not long ago, Walgreens bought Duane Reade (a NY drugstore chain), which had begun to feature a Sephora-like beauty concept in order to elevate their image {which is a totally cool idea}! So, select Walgreens across the country are remodeling and beginning to feature Look Boutiques. Chicago has three, I think–Clark/Diversey {near me, just opened} in Lakeview; Milwaukee in Wicker Park; and State Street in the Loop. The one in Wicker Park sounds gorgeous–check out this article I found about it here!

I just think this is the coolest concept, ever. A couple of the brands I saw when I first walked in–TheBalm, Cargo, Klorane, Pop Beauty, Avene, La Roche Posay–aren’t really extensively carried at Sephora or Ulta. I did a quick search, and Sephora only carries four TheBalm products. Ulta doesn’t carry it at all. I’m super stoked to have found the complete line there! I used to use Bahama Mama bronzer back when it was still sold at Sephora, but it kind of fell off my radar. Birchbox also samples TheBalm pretty frequently; I’ve tried their Mary Lou-Manizer highlighter, as well as In-Stain blush, and loved them both. My roommate got a sample of their How Bout Them Apples cream blush, and it’s the sweetest-looking product I’ve ever seen.

The best part is, this week only–it’s all 20% off. All of it! As long as you have a Walgreens rewards card, and if you don’t, it takes about two seconds to obtain one. I’m planning on going back later this week before the sale ends and stocking up. On my list:

{1} TheBalm Bahama Mama Bronzer
{2} TheBalm Stainiac Lip & Cheek Stain
{3} TheBalm Frat Boy Shadow/Blush
{4} Cargo New Essential Lip Gloss in Fresno
{5} Klorane Dry Shampoo with Nettle {a Birchbox discovery, and my all-time favorite dry shampoo ever. I was so thrilled to discover that the Look Boutique carried it.}

It’s a little difficult to find information on these Look Boutiques, so I’m not certain where they’re popping up at. I know there are several in NYC, the three in Chicago I mentioned, and at least one in LA and Houston. Safe to assume major cities will be getting them first, but keep your eyes peeled!

One thought on “Best. Discovery. Ever.

  1. Pingback: Drugstore Gems | Lovely.

Leave a Reply

