Bring it on, summer.

Summers in Chicago are not the greatest. We really go from one end of the weather spectrum to the other here! I’m doing everything I can to prepare for the miserable, muggy days that surely lie ahead, so that I can relax and enjoy all that the city has to offer.

coola

I wanted a matte, tinted sunscreen for beach days {or any other time I don’t want a full face of makeup}. I went with COOLA’s Tinted Matte SPF 30 for Face {find it here}, because I had sampled it in a previous Birchbox and fell in love. It’s got a great, mousse-like texture, and blends like a dream. And it’s super lightweight–I can barely feel it on my face.

oc8_mattifyinggel_900x900

For days I do wear makeup, though {which are most days}, I knew I needed a good base. I’ve been between primers lately, and hadn’t found one that I was crazy about. I’ve been curious about OC8 Professional Mattifying Gel {found here}, so I added it to my cart! So far, I love it. I apply it after moisturizer and sunscreen, and before my foundation. It dries to a matte finish {duh} and helps my face stay shine-free all day. Of course, when the sun is beating down on me, I sweat.. but once that dries or evaporates or whatever, my face is still matte. It’s great! I might even go so far as to say miracle product?

dermablend_settingpowder_900x900

Last but not least, I grabbed a new setting powder. My NARS Light Reflecting Pressed Setting Powder was nearly gone, and to be honest–I wasn’t a huge fan of it, anyways. I know, I know…who am I to say anything less than positive about a product created by Francois Nars? But it just didn’t do it for me. I actually ended up using an Exacto knife to pry the pan out of the compact, and it was the perfect space to fit some bobby pins! All about repurposing. But anyways, I digress. I chose Dermablend Professional Loose Setting Powder. It’s wonderful! A super fine texture, and very light. It comes with a fluffball of an applicator, which I used a few times then tossed in favor of a big, fluffy powder brush. I was worried that my face would be too matte {my foundation has a matte finish as well} but I think it looks just fine. The Dermablend is great for touch ups, too. Get it here!

All right, Chicago summer. Bring it on! I’m more than ready for ya.

Leave a Reply

